Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

16096824  A Court of Thorns and Roses

  Sarah J. Maas

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like        creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land  she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal,  but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a  fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the  beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the  faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world  —forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy  and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

 

~Review~

This was a hard review for me to write, because I really, really wanted to like this book.  And why shouldn’t I?  Gorgeous cover? Check. Interesting premise? Check.  Hype? SO MUCH HYPE!  But the sad fact is that I just didn’t.

I enjoy a good fairy tale retelling, so I was excited by the prospect of reading a twist on Beauty and the Beast.   I felt the book started out great, and I was drawn to Feyre’s strength and conviction to keep her family alive, even if they were worthless in helping themselves.  I respect that.  I thought that all of the characters were well written, and I liked how the author pulled from different mythologies to create the Fae lands.

Where it started falling apart for me was when Lucien cussed for the first time.  Now that might not seem like a big deal to you, but for me it was jolting and immersion breaking.  My first thoughts were, wait– a High Fae cusses just like a human?  Where’s the imagination and creativity in that?  I’m not opposed to a High Fae cursing, but when the author takes such great lengths to show us how set apart the Faerie world is from the Human world, it just didn’t feel authentic.

But my biggest problem with this book is that it is masquerading as a YA book when in fact, it is NA.  And maybe I should have known better, but I purchased this book in the YA section at Target, and have seen it only displayed in YA sections in every other bookstore I’ve been to.  I feel this is a gross misrepresentation on the part of both the publisher and the booksellers.  Because of this, I was wholly unprepared for the graphic nature of the “love” scenes.  Though, be warned, the graphic descriptions are not just isolated to the “love” scenes between Feyre and Tamlin.  They are pretty much every time Feyre looks or thinks about Tamlin– girl’s got a dirty mind! Then again, maybe I’m just a prude.

************************************SPOILERS BELOW***************************************

And can we talk about that scene where after months of separation, Feyre and Tamlin steal minutes alone together in a closet? Instead of using the time to bolster each other’s spirits and reinforce the belief that their love was stronger than all that they were facing, they went at it like animals.  Crass.

*************************************SPOILERS OVER****************************************

This is the first Sarah J. Maas book that I’ve read, so I can’t compare ACOTAR to her other works.  It’s clear that she’s a great writer, but perhaps I should have started with her Throne of Glass series.  Or, I should have done more research on this book’s actual genre.   Overall, even with the rich descriptions and the likable, well fleshed-out characters, I was disappointed.

Leave a Reply

