ARC Review: The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson

21569527 The Heart of Betrayal (The Remnant Chronicles #2)

 Mary E. Pearson

Intrigue abounds in this hotly anticipated sequel to The Kiss of Deception!

Held captive in the barbarian kingdom of Venda, Lia and Rafe have little chance of  escape. Desperate to save her life, Lia’s erstwhile assassin, Kaden, has told the  Vendan Komizar that she has the gift, and the Komizar’s interest in Lia is greater  than anyone could have foreseen.

Meanwhile, nothing is straightforward: there’s Rafe, who lied to Lia, but has  sacrificed his freedom to protect her; Kaden, who meant to assassinate her but has  now saved her life; and the Vendans, whom Lia always believed to be barbarians.  Now that she lives amongst them, however, she realizes that may be far from the  truth. Wrestling with her upbringing, her gift, and her sense of self, Lia must make powerful choices that will affect her country… and her own destiny.

~Review~

I absolutely adore this series.  I actually won a copy of The Kiss of Deception through a Fierce Reads giveaway last year, but passed the whole lot on to my local high school before reading any of them.  Crazy, I know! So when I saw Kiss of Deception at my library, I snatched it up. It was not at all like I thought it would be…..it was SO MUCH BETTER!

Imagine my excitement when the darling Britt @ Please Feed the Bookworm sent me a copy of The Heart of Betrayal!  It looked a little something like this:

tumblr_le3nu9QUKW1qct8mq

(By the way, if you guys don’t follow Britt, YOU SHOULD! She’s awesome and funny, with a wee bit of sass!)

So this book……

Mary E. Pearson did a stellar job at building the tension throughout the whole book.  Even when you thought, ok, maybe now these characters will catch a break–NOPE!  SO much was going on behind the scenes, and NO ONE is who you think on the surface. This book was like a ninja.  Pearson expertly weaves this story so that you’re reading along, unsuspecting, and then BAM, sneak attack! And the tension and anticipation just continue to build until you are left with one of the most STUNNING endings I’ve ever read.

900x900px-LL-9cfb67fd_tumblr_lpmpgvZZjk1qc93th

(Me after reading THAT ending)

What I liked

The Worldbuilding:

In The Heart of Betrayal, we are introduced to Venda and learn the history of both the land and the woman for which it is named.  Pearson paints such a cold, ruthless picture of this forgotten Kingdom.  For the most part, this is a land of cruel, hardened people in an even crueler, hardened landscape, exploited by the their rulers.  But Pearson tucks in small pieces of humanity among such a dreary backdrop that, if you’re like me, has you quietly rooting for these people to succeed.

The Characters:

In The Heart of Betrayal you get more of all the characters you loved in The Kiss of Deception and then some. Pearson takes us deeper into what makes Kaden tick. We get to meet the Komizar, who is deliciously complex, and a host of other Vendan characters.  We also get more of Jeb, Tavish, Orrin, and Sven which I loved.  If I was ever in trouble, I’d want those guys to have my back!

What I didn’t like

That the story ended.  That I have to wait another whole year for the last book.

giphy

I urge you all to read this series!!  I’d love to hear what you thought about The Heart of Betrayal, drop me a line!

Leave a Reply

